All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 11:42 am 
Still hanging around

Camera: Nikon D7200
Lens: 16-85mm VR and 50mm f/1.8
Favorite Type: Landscapes & sunrises
Inspiration: Shaun Lowe
OK to edit my images: Yes
I decided last week I needed a new-gadget "fix", so I bought myself a Samsung LS24A300 24" TFT monitor. I have two Samsung LCD televisions which I like very much, so I assumed a Samsung PC monitor would be equally good. I work in IT and have handled Samsung monitors for many years, going back to those huge SyncMaster CRTs we used to lug about.

Well, to cut a long story short, after many hours fiddling with every setting I could find, I could not get the image quality I was after from the Samsung. It was an unusual shortcoming; images looked rather cool (almost blue-ish) even when I adjusted the RGB levels manually and pushed the red up. I ended up with a noticeabley pink greyscale and yet somehow reds and yellows still looked slightly cool and de-saturated. The monitor was fine in all other respects but I just wasn't happy with it, so I will pass it on to a less demanding customer - I got it through my work, so I can easily find another home for it.

In its place I have just acquired an Iiyama ProLite PLE2473HDS. It looked better straight out of the box - proper reds and yellows and a nice neutral greyscale on my test page (http://www.pwtphoto.com/greyscale.htm). I haven't finished fine-tuning it yet, but early impressions are good and I would certainly recommend it - or at the very least suggest it as an alternative to the Samsung model mentioned above. Bear in mind these are both fairly low-end budget monitors, but that's all I can afford.

PostPosted: Sat Jan 28, 2012 3:43 pm 
Gold Member

Camera: DSLR: D700, D300 Compact: S95, SD870IS
Lens: Nikkor
Favorite Type: Mostly things that don't move or look back at me